Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Past CDC Directors/Administrators

Tom Frieden, MD, MPH2009 – 2017:
Tom Frieden, MD, MPH
Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH2002 – 2009:
Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH
Jeffrey P. Koplan, MD, MPH1998 – 2002:
Jeffrey P. Koplan, MD, MPH
David Satcher, MD, PhD1993 – 1998:
David Satcher, MD, PhD
William L. Roper, MD, MPH1990 – 1993:
William L. Roper, MD, MPH
James O. Mason, MD, MPH1983 – 1989:
James O. Mason, MD, Dr.PH
William H. Foege, MD, MPH1977 – 1983:
William H. Foege, MD, MPH
David J. Sencer, MD, MPH1966 – 1977:
David J. Sencer, MD, MPH
James L. Goddard, MD, MPH1962 – 1966:
James L. Goddard, MD, MPH
Clarence A. Smith, MD, MPH1960 – 1962:
Clarence A. Smith, MD, MPH
Robert J. Anderson, MD, MPH1956 – 1960:
Robert J. Anderson, MD, MPH
Theodore J. Bauer, MD1953 – 1956:
Theodore J. Bauer, MD
Justin M. Andrews, ScD1952 – 1953:
Justin M. Andrews, ScD
Raymond A. Vonderlehr, MD1947 – 1951:
Raymond A. Vonderlehr, MD
Mark D. Hollis, ScD1944 – 1946:
Mark D. Hollis, ScD
L.L. Williams, MD1942 – 1943:
L.L. Williams, MD