Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Gynecologic Cancers

Photo of two women

Five main types of cancer affect a woman’s reproductive organs: cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar. As a group, they are referred to as gynecologic cancers. Each gynecologic cancer is unique, with different signs, symptoms, and risk factors (things that may increase your chance of getting cancer).

All women are at risk for gynecologic cancers, and risk increases with age. You can lower your risk for some of these cancers. When gynecologic cancers are found early, treatment works best.

CDC promotes awareness of gynecologic cancers through its national awareness campaign, Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer.

CDC’s National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program provides breast and cervical cancer screenings and diagnostic services to low-income, uninsured, and underinsured women across the United States. Find out if you qualify.

Next: Basic Information

Featured Resources

Gynecologic Cancer Comprehensive Brochure A comprehensive brochure provides in-depth information on each gynecologic cancer.

Ovarian Cancers: Evolving Paradigms in Research and Care

The Institute of Medicine issued Ovarian Cancers: Evolving Paradigms in Research and Care with support from CDC.

Photo of a doctor using a computer

The Gynecologic Cancer Curriculum provides continuing education (CE) for primary health care providers.